Items in Check in dialog box

Items in the dialog box include:
  • When checking in
    • Check in and delete the local copy
      Check in the file or binder and delete the copy from your current working folder.
    • Check in but keep a local copy
      Check in the file or binder and keep a read-only copy of the file in your current working folder. When you check out this file or binder again, you can choose to overwrite the file or binder in your working folder. This option is only available when you have
      Override Removal of Local Copies
      permission.
    • Keep checked out
      Check in the file or binder but immediately check it out again so that you can continue editing.
  • Recursively check in files from subfolders
    If you check in a device or container, you check in all files and binders within that device or container. Select this option to also check in any files or binders located in subfolders of the device or container.
    This option is only available if you select a device, folder, or container in the asset tree. It is not available for binders; the checked in content of a binder is determined by the filters set up in the binder properties.
    This option is not available when closing a file or binder that had been opened from a desktop shortcut. (Opening from a desktop shortcut automatically checks out the file or binder. Closing the file or binder checks it in if automatic check-in is set up in the Options dialog box: File Associations.)
  • Override check-out location with path
    Select this option to check in files from a temporary working folder instead of your current working folder. This is useful if you made a copy of a file and placed it in a location other than the working folder to which you originally checked out the file. To check in the file you copied, click
    Browse
    and select the location from which you want to check in the file.
    To override the working folder, you must have
    Configure Personal Archive Working Folders
    and
    Set Working Folders
    permissions.
  • Comments
    Enter a comment to summarize the changes. This is helpful when tracking work done in a file. The maximum length for a comment is 2500 characters.
    TIP:
    Depending on the value assigned to the
    Allow Empty Comment at Check In
    security setting for a particular user or group, typing a comment may or may not be obligatory upon the check-in.
Provide Feedback
Have questions or feedback about this documentation? Please submit your feedback here.
Normal