Delete archived files

As you use FactoryTalk AssetCentre Archive, you will accumulate versions of files that are no longer useful. Accumulated files can hamper the performance of Archive. Remove unnecessary files from the database using the Archive Cleanup Wizard. The Archive Cleanup Wizard will not remove the first or last version of any file.
To run the Archive Cleanup Wizard, you need to enter the Design mode. If no user in the system is in the Design mode, you will enter the Design mode when starting the wizard and exist once the operation completes. If any user in the system has locked the Design mode, that user needs to exist the Design mode before you can run the wizard.
TIP:
Once files are removed from the database, they cannot be restored.
Prerequisites
  • To run the Archive Cleanup Wizard, you must have
    Run Archive Database Cleanup Wizard
    permission.
  • Check in all files, have users log off FactoryTalk AssetCentre, and have your SQL administrator back up the FactoryTalk AssetCentre database.
To delete archived files
  1. Select
    Tools > Archive Cleanup Wizard
    .
  2. On the
    Welcome
    page, click
    Next
    .
  3. On the
    Server Statistics
    page, review the current disk space status and click
    Next
    .
  4. On the
    Choose Assets to Prune
    page:
    1. In the
      Current assets
      list, select the containers and files with file versions to delete.
    2. Click
      Add to list
      .
    3. Click
      Next
      .
  5. On the
    Deletion Criteria
    page:
    • To apply the same deletion criteria for all file versions:
      a. Select
      Simple
      .
      b. Specify the range of dates by clicking the calendar icon.
      c. Enter the amount of the latest versions to keep in addition to the first and last versions.
      d. To apply the deletion criteria to all container assets, select
      Apply recursively to children of any container assets
      .
      e. Click
      Next
      . Go to step 7.
    • To apply advanced deletion criteria for each file version:
      a. Select
      Advanced
      .
      b. Click
      Next
      . Continue to step 6.
  6. (Optional) Select a container or file in the list. To delete labeled versions, select
    Delete labeled versions
    .
    • To specify the deletion criteria by date:
      a. Select
      Delete by date
      .
      b. Specify the range of dates by clicking the calendar icon.
      c. Enter the amount of the latest versions to keep in addition to the first and last versions.
      d. To apply the deletion criteria to all container assets, select
      Apply recursively to children of any container assets
      .
      e. Click
      Next
      .
    • To specify the deletion criteria by version:
      a. Select
      Delete by version
      .
      b. Specify the version range by clicking the version list.
      c. Click
      Next
      .
  7. On the
    Delete comments contents
    page, you can delete action and user comments from the SQL Server table to reduce hard drive space.
    • To keep the comments, select
      Do not delete the comments contents
      .
    • To delete the comments and save them to a file, select
      Delete the comments contents and export them to an MDF (SQL Server database) file
      .
      a. In the
      File Name
      box, specify the MDF file name.
      b. In the
      File Path
      box, enter or click the browse button to specify the location to save the MDF file.
    • To delete the comments without saving them to a file, select
      Delete the comments contents
      .
      Click
      Next
      .
  8. On the
    Confirmation
    page, review the operations that will be performed and click
    Start
    .
    • To save the deletion configuration that can be used for subsequent uses, click
      Save Configuration
      .
    • To change the location to save the operation results, click
      Set Log File
      .
  9. On the
    Deleting Specified File Versions
    page, a progress bar shows.
    TIP:
    To cancel the operation, click
    Cancel
    . Clicking
    Cancel
    only cancels the delete operations of versions that have not started. Versions that have already been deleted cannot be restored.
  10. On the
    Results
    page, review the results of the delete operation and click
    Next
    .
  11. On the
    Finished
    page, review the disk space status after the delete operation, then click
    Finish
    to close the Archive Database Cleanup Wizard.
Provide Feedback
Have questions or feedback about this documentation? Please submit your feedback here.
Normal