FactoryTalk AssetCentre Archive frequently asked questions

How does the FactoryTalk AssetCentre Archive work?
When a file is stored in the archive, it is moved from the local hard drive into the FactoryTalk AssetCentre database, which resides on a Microsoft SQL Server, for permanent storage. Any time the file needs to be accessed after this, it is copied out of the FactoryTalk AssetCentre database and onto the local hard drive of the FactoryTalk AssetCentre client.
What type of files can be stored in the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive?
Any type of electronic files can be stored in the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive. Files do not need to be associated with Rockwell Automation software products.
How is a file added to the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive?
Using the FactoryTalk AssetCentre client, a file is selected from the local storage for addition to the archive.
What is the maximum file size that can be added to the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive?
Files of up to 2GB are supported, though not recommended. Very large file sizes are time intensive and grow the FactoryTalk AssetCentre database very quickly.
How are new file versions created?
Using the FactoryTalk AssetCentre client, a file is checked out of the archive for editing purposes. When the editing is complete, the file is checked back into the archive.
Can the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive be searched for files?
Yes, there is a mechanism to search for files within the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive.
What is the difference between a check-out and get operation?
Both operations retrieve a file from the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive. A check-out operation grants the user exclusive rights to edit the file so that it cannot be checked out by other users. When the check-in operation occurs, the new version of the file is stored and the file lock is cleared. A file that is checked out continues to be available for the read access via a get operation, which is designed for read-only access during which no edits are desired. Both operations can be secured on a per-file basis.
What if a file is checked out and not checked back in?
A checked-out file will remain locked until it is checked back in, or until an Undo Check out operation is performed. This operation can be secured, and will cancel the check-out and unlock the file.
Can a file be automatically checked back in when edits are complete?
Yes. The FactoryTalk AssetCentre client can be configured to monitor a file so that it will prompt the user to check the file back into the archive when it detects that the file is no longer in use.
Is it possible to require the removal of the local file upon a check-in operation?
Yes. The check-in operation can be configured to require the deletion of the local file, ensuring that the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive is the only storage location.
Is it possible to require approval for a check-in operation?
No. There is currently no support for an approval function when checking in a new file version.
How are versions of a file tracked?
FactoryTalk AssetCentre automatically increments an archived file version if a difference is detected between the current archive version and the version that is being checked in. If no difference is detected, no increment will occur.
Are major and minor version numbers supported?
Major version numbers are supported. Minor version numbers are currently not supported.
Is it possible to set the starting version number for a new file?
No. All new files start at version number 1.
Is there a maximum number of supported versions for a single file?
There is currently no limit on the number of versions for a single file. All versions are stored in the FactoryTalk AssetCentre database, meaning that database size should be managed accordingly.
How is the master file version determined?
By default, the latest version of the file is considered to be the master version. Alternatively, any version can be pinned, which designates it as the master, even if there are newer versions of the file. The master version of a file will have operations such as Disaster Recovery performed against it, while the check-out operations will occur against the latest version.
Can older versions of the file be obtained from the archive?
Yes. Any version can be extracted from the archive.
Can two file versions be compared to one another?
Yes, two versions of a file can be compared directly from within the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive. Additionally, an archived file version can be compared to a version outside of the archive, such as a file on the Windows desktop.
Can comments be associated with individual versions?
Yes. Each check-in operation will prompt for comments, though this is not currently a required field. Comments cannot be edited after the version has been added to the archive.
What information is associated with individual file versions?
The version number, date of creation, created-by user, and user-entered comments.
How can file versions be removed from the FactoryTalk AssetCentre archive?
The FactoryTalk AssetCentre Archive Clean-up Utility is provided with the FactoryTalk AssetCentre client installation. This can be run with a user interface, or from a command line, which allows it to be scheduled. Any version of a file can be removed except for the first and last versions, with removed version numbers showing as grayed out and retaining information such as Date Added, Comments, and so on.
Is there a way to associate a version of multiple files together?
A Label can be used in the archive to group a specific version of multiple files. For example, a label could be used to indicate a major release of multiple files of different versions.
Can a user be forced to enter comments upon check-in of a file to the archive?
Yes. As of version 7.10, a FactoryTalk AssetCentre system administrator can force users to enter a comment when checking in a file into the archive providing information on what was done and keep track of the changes.
How can users be forced to enter comments upon check-in?
The
Allow Empty Comments at Check-in
feature security policy introduced in version 7.10 is located in the
FactoryTalk Administration Console
under
System > Product > FactoryTalk AssetCentre > Feature Security > Archive Policies
. This feature security policy is set to allow by default for both FactoryTalk Administrators group and All Users. Removing a group or user from the security policy results in an implicit deny, forcing users to enter comments on check-in. This setting is global, meaning that it applies to all archived assets.
Provide Feedback
Have questions or feedback about this documentation? Please submit your feedback here.
Normal